Texas Historical Commission Medallion

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) offers annual awards to recognize worthy accomplishments and exemplary leadership in the preservation of Texas’ heritage. 

The THC accepts nominations for the following categories of annual historic preservation awards.

These awards are typically presented the following year at the THC's Real Places Conference. The THC’s most prestigious award, the Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation, is presented in a special ceremony arranged with staff of the Governor’s Office. Current THC staff members, commissioners, advisory board members, and their immediate families are not eligible to receive any award. Nominations can only be submitted for one award at a time.

Applications may be submitted beginning on June 1. The deadline for submissions for the 2024 THC Preservation Awards is August 15, 2024, at 5 p.m. Winners of the awards will be decided at the Commission's January 2025 Quarterly Meeting, and all nominees will be notified of their status shortly afterwards. Guidelines for the 2024 awards are available below. Nominations can only be submitted for one award at a time.

THC Award of Merit

The THC also offers awards of merit throughout the year. Nominations for the Award of Merit, which recognizes the efforts/contributions of a group or individual involved in preserving Texas’ cultural and historic resources, can be submitted at any time during the year. The presentations of these awards are arranged by THC staff or submitting individuals and organizations as time allows.

THC Award of Merit in Historic Preservation Nomination Form 

Past Award Recipients

A promotional logo for the Texas Treasure Business Awards

Texas Treasure Business Awards

To learn more about the awards given to the state's historic businesses and their contributions to communities across Texas, visit the Texas Treasure Business Awards page.

Texas Treasure Business Awards
THC Preservation Awards Contact

Contact Us

If you have questions about the THC Preservation Awards Program, please contact the program administrator using the information listed here.

  • Phone:
    +1 512-463-5854
  • Email:
  • Address:

    P.O. Box 12276
    Austin, TX 78711
    United States