Governor's Award Recipients

Since 1991, the Texas Historical Commission has presented the prestigious Governor's Award for Historic Preservation to individuals or organizations for efforts in preserving Texas' cultural and historic resources.This award recognizes the highest achievement in preservation of prehistoric and historic heritage.

2021   Texas Dance Hall Preservation, Inc.

2020   Community Historical Archaelogy Project with Schools (CHAPS), University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

2019   Apollo Mission Control Center Restoration Team, Houston

2018   Texas Heritage Trails Regions Boards of Directors

2017   Betty Oglesbee

2015   Texas Land Title Association

2014   Truett and Harriet Latimer

2013   The Junior Historians Program of the Texas State Historical Association.

2012   Old Spanish Missions, Inc.

2011   Texas Parks and Wildlife Department’s Wildland Firefighting Teams

2010   Clarabelle Snodgrass

2009   Frank and Mary Yturria

2008   Historic Fort Worth, Inc.

2007   Dr. Kathleen Kirk Gilmore

2006   San Antonio Conservation Society

2005   Independent Bankers Association of Texas

2004   Daughters of the Republic of Texas

2003   Julian Read

2002   Dodge Jones Foundation

2001   Judge Jim Lovett

2000   Summerlee Foundation

1999   Harold Courson

1998   Houston Endowment

1997   Dealey Herndon

1996   F. Lee Lawrence

1995   George and Cynthia Mitchell

1994   Dr. David C. De Boe and the Educational Services of the Texas State Historical Association

1993   Texas Highways

1992   The Meadows Foundation

1991   Galveston Historical Foundation