By Andy Rhodes, Managing Editor, The Medallion
A year ago, a meadow at Washington-on-the-Brazos State Historic Site was merely a grassy field with a grove of stately live oak trees. Today, it’s an impressive streetscape with two-story historical structures and log cabins complementing an existing replica of Independence Hall. What once involved an evocation of the Washington townsite where Texas was born in 1836 is now a tangible, interactive living-history experience.
On November 8, 2025, state lawmakers and Texas Historical Commission (THC) representatives officially cut the ribbon on the new $57 million Washington-on-the-Brazos site, which includes the reconstructed buildings and impressively upgraded Star of the Republic Museum and visitor center. The site honors the location where the Texas Declaration of Independence was signed and interprets life in Texas during the Republic era.
“I believe in the history of this state, the commitment of the people that were here, and the drive and the spirit that they had to say, ‘We’re going to be great, we’re going to be different, and we are going to be independent,’” THC Chairman John L. Nau, III said at the ceremony. “This was work that our commission gladly accepted, and now it’s our job to make certain that visitors and schoolchildren understand why it’s so important.”
Texas Sen. Lois Kolkhorst of Brenham echoed these sentiments during her speech, quoting the famous “Victory or Death” letter written by Col. William B. Travis during the Texas Revolution.
“But under the flag of independence, we are ready to peril our lives a hundred times a day,” she said, repeating the line for emphasis. “And they did. For a place called Texas. Liberty. Freedom. In a place called Texas—something that inspires people all over the world.”
The site’s transformation, designed in partnership with the Historic Sites Architectural Team, Richter Architects, and designers at Gallagher & Associates, uses multi-sensory storytelling to connect visitors to Texas’ founding. The fully renovated visitor center offers a welcoming entry point, with three floor-to-ceiling video walls, an archeology case with artifacts excavated from the townsite, and an expanded gift shop.
Nearby, the reimagined Star of the Republic Museum is a highlight, especially for those familiar with the 1970 version that previously included many taxidermized animals and outdated exhibits.
In its place are modern galleries, impressive exhibits, and immersive theaters that could be found in modern exhibit halls.
Six galleries tell the story of Texas from pre-Republic times through annexation, featuring custom artwork and sweeping murals. Additional highlights include a 180-degree theater depicting Texas’ origins, a room where families can dress in 1830s-style clothing and understand how families prepare a meal, and Independence Hall Theater with walls that come alive to reveal Republic-era figures.
The aforementioned Washington townsite honors the community that served as the capital of the Republic of Texas. By the 1840s, Washington was a modest town of 1,700 with riverboat trading on the nearby Brazos River. It ultimately declined in population, and its buildings were dismantled and lost to wildfire by 1912. In 1915, the Texas Legislature appropriated funds to turn the abandoned community into a park.
The townsite features staff members in period clothing offering historical background about Washington and details related to each of the reconstructed buildings on and near Ferry Street, including:
Rucker’s Drug Store, which served as an important social gathering place and commercial center, offering goods such as medicinal compounds, health tonics, and general merchandise. One of the few original town buildings captured in historic images, the reconstructed drug store now houses an archeology exhibit dedicated to the town’s history and decline.
Hatfield’s Exchange, the other impressive two-story structure, served several purposes that could seem contradictory (or resourceful). The second floor was occasionally used as Congress Hall for legislators, but more often the building served as a bar and billiard hall.
Heath’s Carpenter Shop was originally operated by Samuel Heath, a local carpenter who built most of the structures in the original townsite with local post oak and cedar. The shop was a vital commercial and industrial center, essential for the rapid development of Washington as it became the political and commercial hub of the Republic.
Sam Houston’s Presidential Office is represented by a log cabin that served as his working office and living quarters during his second term as president of the Republic in the early 1840s. The nearby blacksmith shop, once the workspace of an enslaved blacksmith, hosts demonstrations about the essential services provided there.
In the coming year, visitors will also be able to witness the construction of the 1835 replica of Hall and Lott Tavern, an important gathering place for locals and travelers arriving on boats from the nearby ferry stop.
While at the site, visitors are also encouraged to stop by the adjacent Barrington Living History Farm State Historic Site, where they can explore the original home of Dr. Anson Jones, the last president of the Republic of Texas. The site features period costumed interpreters using 19th-century farming practices for planting, harvesting, and working with livestock 150 years ago.
During the site’s opening ceremony, Nau emphasized the importance of these buildings and how the reimagined structures will serve travelers and students for decades to come.
“By educating visitors about early Texan society, culture, politics, and agriculture, this site ensures that Texas’ present and future can benefit from the lessons of its history,” he said.